1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

MK CU 11yrs old Model?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by AndyPRK, 10 Mar 2012.

  1. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could someone tell me what model this CU this is please.
    I am thinking about buying a couple of 6A RCBO's and want to know which ones to get.

    Do MK do Type C RCBO's ?

    Thanks

    [​IMG]

    MCB's labelled 59xx
     
  2. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    13,751
    Thanks Received:
    1,229
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The current models of RCBO will fit that board.
    Probably the ebay type is OK as it looks modern.

    Before you rush off to do this do take the cover off the CU and see if there is LOTS of space as the RCBO is much taller than the existing MCBs.

    How will you test these RCBOs? Do you have an RCD tester?
     
  4. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ignore me!
     
  5. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,419
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The best thing to fit in that CU would be Schneider RCBOs.

    The are a different name on the front, but made by the same people who used to make circuit breakers for MK, the type that you have in your CU.
     
  6. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,354
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    who said that? :confused:
     
  7. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,419
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly my mistake RF, Merlin and Square D Scnieder MCBs will fit, but not the RCBOs! Hence my 'ignore me' comment!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks RF. What about the one in my 2nd post with the small test button at the bottom. Do they fit well?


    RF recommended: with top test button
    7932S ?
     
  11. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,419
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They do fit ok, but they don't match your existing circuit breakers, and IMO are not as well made as the old schneider ones were.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Out of interest, how easy is it to fit a 2nd RCD and convert the CU to dual RCD on this board? e.g fit an N block and bus bar ? THere appear to be 2 MCB's that aren't required.
     
  13. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,419
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be fair by time you've messed about and bought all the bits RCBOs will be as cheap and you end up with a far superior installation.
     
  14. AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess I should buy a B32 RCBO too, and move an important circuit over to the other side. I think I can free a slot up, as I assume the RCD position is fixed.

    Thanks for your help RF.
     

Share This Page