Mould under 1930 bay window

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, this is my first post and not sure what to do or which trade would be best to help with mould under the bedroom bay window.
It’s a 1930s semi. The room is well heated and ventilated and this is the only area of the room that is affected.
It isn’t wet to touch but is cold.
My thoughts are that moisture or rainwater may be getting in through the render. It wasn’t in good condition when we moved in but we filled it and painted it and had no issues since. New windows fitted this year but no trickle vents?
I have tried to clean with anti mould spray but keeps coming back.
Would I be best getting it replasted and insulted and/or hack off the render and re render it? I’m a bit of a novice so would need a tradesman and I think a plasterer would be best suited but would welcome any ideas or suggestions. This is the only area of the house that has some mould. Thanks
IMG_1028.jpeg
IMG_1030.jpeg

Sponsored Links
If same as mine it will be a single skin with a damp proof barrier,I knocked my render off and fitted new barrier and insulated the inside wall .

Yes. The construction may be very insubstantial. You can also address it by breaking off the internal plaster, you will probably find a wooden frame and a cavity. Clean it out, pack with insulation, finish with a moisture-vapour barrier, plasterboard, and redecorate.

Because the upper bay was built on top of the old wooden window frame, there may be no brickwork.

Mine was tile-hung, and I would have added breathable membrane if rebuilding from the outside.

Classic pattern staining from condensation.

It may be that the only practical way to deal with this is to take the plasterboard off and insulate between the frame and across the face.

Sponsored Links
And it will be easier than working from the outside.

Thanks for the replies.