Myson/Apollo problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everybody,

I have a problem my boiler will not fire up.

I have a pilot light but when I run the hot water or turn the stat up the boiler does not fire up like it should. My house is only 18 years old so I assume the boiler has been there since it was built.

I have had this a couple of times in the past but normally if I turn it off then on again it fires up fine.

I can hear the fan running when it is on (well it sounds a bit like a fan anyway)

Any extremely helpful person got any idea ?

Alan

Sponsored Links
Is it easy to fit a new one ? Can I hit it with a hammer to loosen it :LOL:
Is it a job I can do my self ? I am an electrician not a boiler engineer. Lastly is it expensive ?

Sponsored Links
I actually did this yesterday, more bby accident than design and again the pilot relit ok but the boiler did not fire up I will go and do this again now.

Thanks for your help

No joy I am afraid. I even went as far as closing it right down. I can hear the fan stop when the mains are turned off. Pilot relights fine but it wont kick up.

I suppose now I have the job of finding a heating engineer on a Saturday afternoon, that will be easy of course :LOL:

Could be a few things on this (permenant pilot )model the fan has a little pcb that contols the speed it goes .With just the pilot on it spins enough to clear the product from pilot ,with any demand the fan steps up to full speed operates a pressure switch and allows main gas to come on.. check for 240 at gas valve if its there it is a faulty solenoid 20 quid and no need to disturb any gas.

Which exact model Apollo have you got? I've been to some that "sounds" like the fan is running but it's not. Be warned that, on some models, the replacement fan is nearly £300.

I have actually done a bit of testing. On the gas valve is a solenoid. This has mains voltage at it but when connected or disconnected the solenoid appears to be open circuit.