new shower hose results in low pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello
I'm new to this so would be grateful for any help offered.

Old shower hose was leaking badly, so I replaced it with a new one; a 'universal' one bought from a national diy store. No more leaks so pleased with that but the pressure at the shower head is now ridiculously low. I don't understand this at all.

Can anyone suggest what might be done (by me) to improve the pressure, please?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Fit a replacement hose that has the same internal diameter and length as the original......hoses for gravity systems are wider than those that deal with electric showers and pressure fed types.
John :)

ah, thank you. Do you know if there are more than 2 different possible diameters? The original hose was collected by the bin men a few days ago! If I take off the one I've just put on, would it be fairly obvious that I would just need to get 'the other' size?

Tried a quick search and found one with a bore of 6.7mm another of 8mm and even one at 12mm so it looks like there are all sorts of sizes out there. Fortunately they all seemed to have the same half inch screw end connectors.

Sponsored Links
Gosh, that's a bit of a nuisance! If I try to measure the internal diameter of the actual shower head, that, I would think give me a clue at least. Would you agree?

The bigger the better really, but your shower head will dictate how much water will flow.
For what it's worth, the hoses with the external coiled chrome surround seem to have smaller inner than the plastic ones.....I doubt the DIY sheds would have all the diameters in stock though.
John :)

Thanks very much. Your advice is really appreciated. I will try to get a plastic coated hose tomorrow and see what happens. Thanks again!