no hot water when radiators are on

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I had taken out a protection pack with my bank which is supposed to protect my gas boiler. This is done through the AA.

I called them out because when heating is on i get very little hot water when i turn the heating off the hot water comes through lovely.

After some testing the engineer said it was the heat Exchanger that was partially blocked. He determined this by doing a calculation of the heat temp going was higher than the heat temp coming out. Because the difference was 19oc this would not be covered by the insurance.
He said the "operation of the diverter assembly all appears correct"

Now i have no knowledge of a working boiler so my question really is : if when the heating is working and i get rush of hot water then constant cold from the tap. When i turn the heating of at the thermostat and put the hot water back on I get lovely hot water my thoughts would lead to the operation of the diverter?

Any help would be great, as i don't really want to pay nearly £300 to an insurance policy that is supposed to give me "peace of mind".

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Aaahhhh " the boiler". I wonder what the make/ model is. I guess we will have to ask!
Sorry to be sarcastic, but so many people post with little or no relevant info.

sorry guys its an ideal isar HE 30
It is white with a lovely grey cover!

Sponsored Links
So you've got an insurance policy that requires you to pay extra in the event that you need to make a claim? Sounds like a massive con to me...

Could be the diverter valve, let the heating go cold then turn on a hot tap and feel the heating flow pipe. If it starts getting warm then the DV is stuck

Hi Muggles

i let everything go cold i turn on a hot water tap got nice hot water so filled the bath!
i then turned the heating on and still hot water filling the bath but no heating.