noisy boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would be grateful if somebody could help with the the above problem please.I have a Worchester 28i junior boiler that started making strange noises when the central heating came on.The first two rads are very hot and the problem is not apparent with just hot water. I had a local firm come out to service it and also mentioned the noise.The noise did not appear when he was finished.Two days later it started again. Called them out again and a different engineer said he thought the noise was "kettling". The Thermistor sensor was the problem or the pcb he said.Another call out charge! And would be charged again to fit the part that "might be faulty". Change things till it gets better thinks me . As a tv engineer i would not get away with that!Any thoughts out there as to the faulty part please?. I should also mention turning down the stat on the boiler stops the noise.

Sponsored Links
Heat exchanger may be scaled up (ie innefficient heat transfer) this would explain no noise after turning the stat down or pump might be dodgy as it is not used for hot water on these boilers. If its the heat exchanger maybe think about a new boiler as its prob not an economical repair

Many thanks for the reply.The first engineer cleaned out the heat exchanger at time of service and said it was ok.

Sponsored Links
Many thanks for the reply.The first engineer cleaned out the heat exchanger at time of service and said it was ok.

There is a difference between a service and a repair.

The most important being the cost!

What did he use to clean out the heat exchanger?

If you were called to set up a TV after someone had moved and were going to charge say £35 for a 15 min job then would you still do a repair at the same price if you found it to be faulty?

Tony