Potterton Envoy leaking from plastic plug

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Sorry for my ignorance but I have no prior experience of boilers. My question is this - my girlfriend's house is fitted with a Potterton Envoy boiler. On the bottom of the housing at the rear there is a yellow plastic 'plug'. When the heating is on (but not the water) it is leaking water from here. It looks like it may just need a new o-ring or something, but not being familiar with these I thought it best to check.

What is the likely cause and how can I fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Mike

Sponsored Links
chances are is that you need a new condensate trap they have undergone a modification as the old ones seem to spilt just above the plastic plug you describe

I would advise you get someone competent in as the old envoy is a "tempramental" piece of sh.................work

I couldn't comment directly on your unit.....but there were a couple of manufacturers who felt they were being left behind in the high efficiency technology race (around 1999) and quickly rushed out units that were ill concieved and under researched.

If you were unlucky enough to have one of these you would find that ongoing repairs would tend to be piecemeal and short lived.

From a gas company perspective, working on such units (unnamed) is a risk because some customers will want to attribute the ongoing unreliability to the last earnest soul who repaired/serviced/safety checked it. When you want to make a claim, you must have someone to blame.

There is a chap on this web site who not immodestly claims to be able to fix any boiler. I can only assume this includes ones where even the manufacturer has tried to bury them.

I suggest you enlist his services - or consider scrapping it in the next 12 months.

Sponsored Links
or just replace the condensate trap