Potterton Performa 28 - flue/fan problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I've got a Potterton Performa 28 combi. I had a pressure problem with it which I've sorted (it was a leaking draincock.) However, a couple of weeks ago it failed to work and the fan/flue neon was flashing - I reset it and all seemed okay. The same thing happened again last week and again last night and this morning. It seems to be failing to start up when the timer kicks in. Once I reset it it appears to run normally. The user instructions state it is either a blocked flue or an 'internal problem.' Is a blocked flue likely given that it works when reset? Or could it be the fan assembly itself or air pressure switch? Even with the neon flashing I thought I could hear the fan faintly whirring but I'm not sure. As it looks as if it's getting worse I'd like to get it sorted ASAP. I'm not too technically minded but any advice gratefully received.

Regards

Matthew

Sponsored Links
You MAY have a fan/flue problem, but it's better odds that your pcb is faulty. That's the way they go!
A "signature" pcb failed behaviour is that the fan gets a little kick for a split second, then the 50 light starts flashing.
It's a 5112380 - about 6 in stock!
If your board's a 248074 then get a new board anyway, you'll need it sooner or later!

Thanks for the information Chris. Is the printed circuit board easy to replace for a novice? I assume it's undo the front panel screws, slide the panel off, drop the control panel, remove the old pcb and slot the new one in? I'm not sure of the part number but I'll check my boiler serial number when I get home (at work at the moment.)

I forgot to mention the boiler is, I think, about 4 or 5 years old - not sure if that would add weight to your diagnosis. Also, how much do pcb's cost?

Regards

Matthew

Sponsored Links