potterton prima problems

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by jefoss, 14 Apr 2012.

  1. jefoss

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey guys,

    got a beautiful potterton prima f60 boiler

    its gone off, the start button seems ot not be working.

    is there anyway i can "hotwire" it to get it up and running till i can get a guy in?

    cheers
     
  2. Tibbot

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no start button, just a control stat. But if you mean the overheat reset button then I'll have to take your post as a wind up.
     
  3. jefoss

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no not a wind up.

    its gone off and ive read online there is a startnutton underneath, i checked and there is something there but if its a button it doesnt click..

    so if im climbing the wrong treethere,, how the heck do i restart it??
     
  4. Tibbot

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can re-set it but nothing else. If it hasn't tripped you need to check there's a demand from external controls as fault could be there.
     
  5. jefoss

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there is a demand, were freezing!

    seriously all usual things are wanting the boiler to work, i turned off electric to do some work yesterday and didnt notice the rads off til today.

    so the question is, how do i reset it???

    many thanks btw for your help....
     
  6. gasservice1985

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    6,405
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure your programmer hasn't lost it's times when the power was turned off?

    Can you hear the pump run?
    Can you hear the motorised valves opening?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,104
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    check your programmer is still set to come on for central heating and/or hot water.



    too slow ;)
     
  8. gasservice1985

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    6,405
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your reset button is underneath its a red cross and if it has popped you just push it in. If it doesn't push in or is loose then your problem is else where
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. jefoss

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i can only assume it has lost the times, but with only 1 dial for off and the heat settings i am at a loss as to what to do.

    cant hear anything at all, ive flicked the electric switch near it off and back on agin, still nothing.
     
  10. gasservice1985

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    6,405
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There should be a programmer either near the boiler or in the airing cupboard
    I think your confusing your boiler stat with programmer
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,104
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    should look something like this

     
  12. jefoss

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    **** me that was simple!!!! i hadnt realised that the timer had cut itself to off also! no idea how we still had hot water still though..

    the mysterys of life


    many thanks for your help gasservice 1985.

    and thanks picasso for the pic. (i just found it before i saw the pic!)

    why is it always the simplest of things that sort it!?!?!?!
     
  13. gasservice1985

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    6,405
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem

    You probably just had a tank of hot water you'll run out soon

    I'd boost the hot water aswell once you've got all your times in
     

Share This Page