Power failure alarm

Reaction score
Country
Cook Islands
As I have RCBOs, and three circuits (plus lights) in the kitchen, I did not notice that the espresso machine had splashed hot water over itself, causing the RCBO to trip and the fridge to go off.

Who knows a source of economical devices that will bleep or something when they lose power, to identify a failed circuit?

Sponsored Links
Cheapest I've seen is about £50, which I wouldn't say is economical. It wouldn't take more than a very basic knowledge of electronics to make one for yourself, though. In fact, electrical knowledge alone is enough - just use a relay with a 230v coil, then wire a battery through the NC contacts to a buzzer. Voila!

'mmmm, I'm not very good at making things

but ten circuits at £50 each is a bit of a drag

Sponsored Links
It really is dead easy John.

I'm just on my way now, but if you like I could do you a drawing and a parts list tomorrow?

That website said:
Widely used to protect valuable stock in freezers & fridges, computer systems, boats, caravans etc.
So the power goes off, everything in the computer is destroyed and a buzzer comes on to tell you it's now far too late to do anything about it :LOL:

John - easy solution:

Get the burglar alarm that my neighbour has.
The battery is knackered and every time the power goes off the alarm bell goes off for 30 minutes!

I built one recently at work for a sewage station. Alright it cost a lot more than £50, but domestically the principle is the same but on a smaller scale.

Battery, relay, sounder (mine included xenon strobe and battery charger)

Just use the N/C contacts of the 230V relay to energise the alarm from the battery.

Rapid have a reasonable range.

An example of Maplin's uselessness - try finding a 1meg 1watt metal film resistor. For some reason, they don't have any 1W resistors at all.
How about other types of resistor - no, since they don't have any.