Power flush - expensive!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok ao I called a plumber out to look at some cold radiators, and after ten minutes he told me my heating system needs a power flush which would take all day and cost £400 plus VAT. To top it all, he wants a £20 call out fee for coming and telling me this.

He reckons 'there's plenty of water in the rads, but there's a block in the pipes not letting it through'. The pipes are sunk in the wall so he can't get to them individually.

Lads and ladies, is there any way of getting this done cheaper than £400?!

I'm no diy expert so I can't do it. He won't be getting an invite back, but will everyone charge the same for this?

Thanks for any advice.[/b]

Sponsored Links
Lads and ladies, is there any way of getting this done cheaper than £400?!

Thanks for any advice.[/b]

you can i charge £350 for seven rad system + £25 for every extra rad.

phone bg they will give you a good deal.

mind you most people are grateful of a good service.

£20 for diagnostic work is cheap.

£20 for coming round your house and diagnosing a problem. Rip off plumbers!

He should have driven over to you for nothing and taken you out for a curry afterwards for the honour of being allowed to cross your threshold.

Sponsored Links
yes, try turning off the hot ones first as sooey says.

if there is any flow at all, you can use a chemical cleaner like Sentinel X400 which you can easily do yourself, and drain and flush them after a week or two. It loosens black sediment so it is washed around in the circulating water instead of lying in a lump.

If there is no flow at all then the chemical will not be able to flow into the blockage. If you take the rads into the garden and squirt them through with a hosepipe that may clear it. This will not help if a pipe is blocked completely and you can't flush it through.