Pressure fault diagnosis and consequences for repair

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm no expert but this case seems a little dubious to me.

Long story short:

- My boiler (performa 28 - potterton) has flagged up a pressure fault
- Boiler is static rock solid at 0.5 bar (has been for 12 months)
- I bleed radiators - 5 in the house and 2 have a bit of air.
- Return back to boiler and it has lost 0.1 - 0.2.
- I top boiler up with about 0.3 taking it the gauge up to 0.7
- turn boiler back on and pressure fault light still blinking.
- Engineer is called out via boiler insurance from a well known energy supplier
- Engineer asks for manual - I offer pdf he declines
- I return back after 10mins to find the engineer with mobile phone wedged between sholuder and ear dealing with water all over the place and buckets under boiler - I leave him to it
- I return back another 10 mins later and he on the phone ordering parts but has moment to talk - he says the boiler has had a leak and has damaged lots of parts.
- I return 5 mins later to find engineer in his van and a sticker on the boiler saying "RISK out of use etc.
- Engineer returns with paperwork for me to sign and says the boiler is BER "beyond economical repair". His company will not authorise the repair and will pass on paper work to the well known energy supply I currently have insurance with.
- Engineer is off

The paper work says - "Boiler leaking inside" - parts required:

- PCB board
- pump
- PVR
- 3 way valve
- pressure gauge

To note:
- There has been a pressure fault before with this boiler - the previous engineer had to open it up and flick a switch that was jamed or stuck? He was gone within 5mins. That was 12 months ago - since then the system has held solid pressure until recently the fault kept coming back. I would solve the issue by turning the system off and then on. The boiler would fire up and work until the fault came up and I would turn off and then on....etc