qualifications Required

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi

i am due to come out of the army soon and i would like to become an electrician. i am a mechanic at the mo so have a good understanding of electrics. what quals do i require to become qualified. i am currently looking at part p and 16th edition, could someone advise me on what courses i need and where i could find them, thanks

Sponsored Links
The main course is the city and guilds 2330, it takes a while to complete (average 2 years... doing 16 hours a week)

Think you can just about do the NVQ in electrical work off the same course as long as you have got someway to get varied on site experience (without the onsite experience the 2330 won't be that useful anyway- though I do know of people who have been sucessful without onsite experience, but I dont think it everyone would manage it)

Then it'd be a very good idea to suppliment that with the 2391 testing course, think thats about 12 weeks at one evening a week

You could add cg2391-part 2 (design) [used to be called 2400] as well, but this is very much seen as an optional qual.

Adam, have you completed the 2391 part 2?

RMS

...plus you will also need 2381 (16th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations) - I am currently doing that course at Lewisham College. 8 weeks of 3 hours a week, though you'll also need to buy a copy of the regs and the On-site Guide....(total cost me over £300, and that was discounted!).

If this helps, I got this info from someone high up in NICEIC (one of the bodies who can get you on a 'Self-Certification Scheme' - essential if you want to work for yourself):

To get started as a 'Domestic Installer', i.e. someone who works for themselves (say) and only does domestic work, you need:

1) To have City & Guilds 2330 Level 2 (which you can get in 1 year - cost me £900 at Lewisham College), or be otherwise able to prove your electrical conmpetence (not absolutely sure about this bit).