Radiator problems!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm new to this so hope I manage to put in all the info! We live in a bungalow, have 7 radiators, a 2 year old Bosh Worcester condenser boiler, serviced by Bosh, a header tank in the loft and new pump fitted by a plumber early part of the year. The hot water works well but the radiators take it in turns to be cold at the top and hot at the bottom, they worked fine before the new pump.
The header tank is okay, been checked, the radiators have been bled both by us and the plumber, several times.
The rads are fine for a few days and it starts again, normally different ones and sometimes 2 or 3 at a time.
The plumber is normally very good but this time cannot understand what is happening, can anybody help please?

Sponsored Links
Hi Andy, thank you for the reply. I did answer but think I did something wrong! Anyway the pump was installed by a "time served Plumber" so guess we have to trust his knowledge. The husband says it is okay, sorry me I don't have clue but don't think he would have got that wrong

Sounds like system is sucking in air, do you have to keep bleeding the rads????

Thanks Paul

Sponsored Links
You could make it into a sealed system , that way you can remove header tank and cold feed and vent,
Turn your pump speed down to 1 and raise the vent pipe over the header tank,

Thanks Paul

That's an expensive and drastic solution. Why don't you ask if the plumber has tested for hydrogen in the rads, which would indicate oxidation, which would indicate that he forgot to add the inhibitor?