Remove silicone using Brake Cleaner!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been siliconing for many years. And when it comes to removing the old silicone to make good a shower enclosure etc, I've never found anything better than hard graft & many hours.
But I was told that Brake Cleaner actually brakes the silicone down, which then can be easily removed with zero effort.
So I bought a spray tin of brake cleaner & I struggled to see it helping much at all.
I sprayed it around the bath rim/ panel area. But I tried.multiple times & I couldn't make out if it was helping even in a small way.
Did I buy the wrong stuff? Maybe a liquid instead of.a spray?

Sponsored Links
Brake cleaner,spray or liquid, evaporates too quickly to have time to work I would have thought. Once the bulk has been scraped off I've found the stuff from b&q worked well

Last edited:
Use silicone remover that most DIY stores sell.

People try all sorts including wd - 40 which then causes a problem with new silicone sticking.

I use break cleaner to clean grease and oil off car engine and parts so will have its uses. Not sure about the silicone one though

Brake cleaner is a chemical largely consisting of toluene and propellant......toluene has a dramatic effect on the constitution of most silicones and will break them down.
If you can apply enough of it of course!
John :)

Sponsored Links
I've been siliconing for many years. And when it comes to removing the old silicone to make good a shower enclosure etc, I've never found anything better than hard graft & many hours.
But I was told that Brake Cleaner actually brakes the silicone down, which then can be easily removed with zero effort.
So I bought a spray tin of brake cleaner & I struggled to see it helping much at all.
I sprayed it around the bath rim/ panel area. But I tried.multiple times & I couldn't make out if it was helping even in a small way.
Did I buy the wrong stuff? Maybe a liquid instead of.a spray?