Replacing kitchen sink - What to do with earth wires?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Apologies if this question has been asked before.

i'm replacing my kitchen sink from plastic to ceramic. The current sink has an earth cable (green/yellow) running from one copper water pipe to another and then to the sink. However the new sink doesn't have a clip for this. So when i disconnect the existing what do i do with the earth wire?

As i understand these wires are there to stop electrical current reaching the taps which could cause a shock?

Sorry if this sounds stupid, complete novice with diy.

Sponsored Links
Equipotential bonding is no longer required in kitchens.

There should be an "earth" wire connecting the incoming water pipe to the earth terminal on the consumer unit/fuseboard, however. It should be attached to the incoming water main near the stop cock.

Equipotential bonding is no longer required in kitchens.

Isn't that just in the case of RCD protection for all circuits within the kitchen? Or are kitchens treated differently again?

Kitchens are not a special location.

Incidentally, I notice your location says "Jersey, United Kingdom". When I lived in Jersey it wasn't in the United Kingdom. Lovely island/bailiwick though.

Sponsored Links
Ceramic sinks still have metal taps and pipes going to them, last time I checked.

Nozzle

i'm replacing my kitchen sink from plastic to ceramic. The current sink has an earth cable (green/yellow) running from one copper water pipe to another and then to the sink.
Out of interest, HOW is it attached to the plastic sink?

However the new sink doesn't have a clip for this. So when i disconnect the existing what do i do with the earth wire?
Remove it.

And what effect do you think that has on the ceramic sink?

None whatsoever.

Metal sink, metal taps, only one element bonded to earth = happy days
Ceramic or plastic sink, metal taps, bonded to each other and to earth = happy days