Rewiring Quote for 3 bed terraced house for 9100 including VAT

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am surprised by the rewiring cost that has come up for my 3 bed terraced house. I quoted over 9000 including VAT. I had a budget between 4500-5500 and it is almost double the costs.

Requesting 3 plug boxes on an average for each rooms.
Requesting one centre light/fan power source and 2 side lights for each rooms.
CAT6 cable connection running across each rooms (source at the reception room)
Light and power point in Attic
1 light for toilet and power source for electric shower in bathroom
1 ceiling power socket on first floor ceiling and ground floor celing
Installing 15 way consumer unit (i was offered this by the electrician who provided me the quote)
2 side lights at the front door entrance
1 main light at the front door entrance
1 light source for garden

Personally i beieve this is way too much. Any thoughts and suggestions ?

Sponsored Links
I am not an electrician.

Where do you live?

Will the electricians need to move furniture, lift carpets, chase behind cornicing, make good the chases?

I don't think anyone will be able to offer comprehensive advice without more info.

get more quotes
difficult to advise, as dont know the layout of the house and work involved
I was quoted in 2016 - 7K for a very small 3 bed semi 1904

get more quotes
difficult to advise, as dont know the layout of the house and work involved
I was quoted in 2016 - 7K for a very small 3 bed semi 1904

This is a 3 bed terraced property probably over 100 years old. Basically a London terraced property. Nothing complicated as most of the properties in London are of this age. I would have thought thati this is just standard work for a terraced property and i didn't request anything more complicated.
Just curious - Did you go ahead with the rewiring though ?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I am not an electrician.

Where do you live?