Roof repair problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I live in a new build 3 storey town house in a large new development in Birmingham. Earlier this month I noticed a slipped tile on my roof and I called a roofing company out to take a look.

The first chap peered at the roof for a few minutes and told me he didn't have the right ladder. He came back again a few days later and then told me that it was too dangerous to go up in the wet weather and promptly disappeared never to be seen again. Totally unprofessional...

So I called out a second comany..

He arrived and told my wife that due to 'health and safety' he couldn't go onto a roof that high with the ladder he's got.

All the while the rain is coming down and I'm concerned about the damage.

What can I do?

Sponsored Links
Hire a ladder and go up yourself. Won't do it? Why would you expect someone else to?

Won't do it. Why would you expect someone else to?

Because I am not a professional roofer that advertises their services to the general public.

When I call out a roofing expert, I want someone who actually can get onto a roof and repair it.

Are my expectations too high?

Are my expectations too high?

Unfortunately, yes they are.

It is inherently dangerous to climb a ladder that high, then you've got to get off at the top and walk on the roof - what if there's a loose slate or tile?

And I bet if he only took 10 minutes to repair your roof you would moan that he charged £50 (or £100/£150 or whatever)

The only safe way is by cherry-picker or scaffold unless you find a desparate roofer who needs money just before Xmas

Sponsored Links
very easy job with a three storey ladder and a hook ladder,would only take no more than 10 minutes to slip a tile in.

Roofer: I have no problem paying the money for someone with the expertise. I just wish I could find someone professional and reliable.

Armz-ee: That's what I like, someone with a solution!