Sealant around integrated gas hob melting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

Our kitchen was fitted by a kitchen fitter. I've been cooking and using the oven for nearly 3 months now and in the past 2-3 weeks I've noticed the seal around the integrated hob to be melting and coming off sticky like a chewing gum or blue tack (but in white ofcourse). the oven is also integrated and is underneath the hob.

There is also a slight smell of something chemical when the oven is on for a while (like over half an hour).

Why is this happening and what can I do to fix it?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
I don't think there's anything to worry about here.....the sealant is really there just to prevent spills and other nasties from accessing the electrical bits underneath. As the hob settles, the sealant does tend to spread so go round the hob vertically with a knife, cutting through the sealant, and pull it away. Enough will remain where its needed!
As for the oven, many components can make a smell as they are bedding in, for example paints and anti corrosion products.
Worry ye not!
John :)

It's not sealant on show, should be mastic which is sticky, should not be any on show as it should be trimmed back. Maybe hob is loose.

It sounds as though either the wrong sealant has been used or that you are using some cooking ingredients or cleaning fluids that are breaking the sealant down.

Either way it seems that the sealant is not suitable.

Sponsored Links
'Sealant' was actually my term - presumably the OP is referring to the mastic strips that come with the appliance.

Thanks everyone for replying.

John, I saw your reply early morning and trimmed it. I took the 1st
photo before cutting it away.

The 2nd is after trimming, side view.. do you think this gap is ok or needs filling?

I use washing up liquid and anti bac spray to clean the worktops and detergent and stainless steel cleaner spray for the hob.