Shower leaked and tripped RCD

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I recently had my house rewired. They did a very neet job and all seemed well until tonight. A seal in my electric shower failed and water poored everywhere, shorted the electrics and tripped the RCD. The thing is it did not trip the RCD for the shower. It triped the main RCD. Now I would say this is wrong in the first place but even more of a strange thing happened. Even though the main RCD tripped we still had power to the lights :confused:
I am no expert so forgive me if I am talking rubbish but I thought the idea of an RCD is to kill the power?

Any ideas?

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
I expect you have a split-load consumer unit. This is a very common way of wiring a house today.

The RCD protects those circuits where injury is likely to be caused by a fault to earth. This is sockets which can be expected to be used with equipment used outside; electric showers, and possibly other sockets too.

It is safer not to put the lights on the RCD, because they are unlikely to cause a shock from an earth fault; and it is safer not to have them go out unexpectedly (for example, you might be running downstairs, carrying something heavy, or up a ladder when it goes dark).

Thanks John

That makes sense. Why has he installed an RCD for the shower if it is going to use the main RCD. purely convenience? So it can be isolated manually?

Sponsored Links
They are different things, an MCB works like a replacement for a fuse, if too much current flows it switches off, an RCD won't switch off if too much current flows, instead it monitors current in the live and neutral and if they don't match (and are out by 0.03A or so) it realises that current must be going astray to earth somehow (quite possibly through a person!) and so switches off.