Shower pump operation - shut-off after a second

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Pls be gentle with me - a newbie here but a keen DIY'er and hope to share my passion with similar minded enthusiasts.

I used other forums quite a lot (bikes, cars, PSP, etc) but never thought there would be one about DIY - duh. If anything can be more conductive to forum discussion, this would certainly be one.

Anyway I hope to tap in on all your expertise out there. My problem is as f'llow:

My shower pump (3 bars for 2 showers with dual hot & cold from the water pipes - not the electrically heat as you use type) has recently (last month) developed a very strange problem. It works fine when the shower is first switched on, but would stop working after a second or two. Switching the water off and then on again would get it to work for a second or less and then stop. Water still flows although there is virtually no pressure (noticeable when you sit down v standing up). Taking a shower is taking a painfully long time these days.

Can anyone shed any light on to what is causing this. As I said, I am reasonably comfortable and a DIY enthusiast so would not have any problem dis-connecting/cleaning/replacing the pump but before I resigned to this would like to see whether this is correctable. After all, it still works fine apart from this.

PS. the water temperature is fine as you would expect, so the thermostat is still working I guess.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

HQ :(

Sponsored Links
The first thing I would check is the flow switch.

Can you reveal the make/model of the pump?

Hi Softus

The pump is a Moonsoon 3bar Twin model.

Where can I locate the flow-switch and what shold I be looking for?

Thanks
HQ

Sponsored Links
Hi ya all

Well, tried the magnet thing with the flow-switch - there is no reaction at all with the pump although the pump did work for a minute or two on first switch on this time.