Sink won't drain but there's no blockage?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Plumbing newbie here (if you couldn't tell)...

Our sink suddenly stopped draining tonight so I tried the old plunger. No luck. Quite a lot of resistance with water coming back up the overflow etc.

No unblocker to hand, so I dismantled the undersink pipes. The weird thing is, there was some gunk but no major blockage as far as I could tell. Tried tunning water through it and also the back pipe - flow seemed OK.

One rubber washer is broken, which is causing a trickling leak so I'll replace that. But can that alone cause a sink not to drain? My elementary physics tells me there must be something else??

Any help appreciated.

Sponsored Links
There could`ve been a "slug" of fat further down the pipework ;) quite likely trapped on one of those tightt bends :evil:

OK this is bizarre. Have replaced washer. No leak any more. Good.

I've taken the pipes apart: Water flows down the main waste pipe at the back - no major blockage

Water flows through the individual bits of pipe - they're dirty but there's no major blockage.

Water flows from the plug hole directly down - no major blockage.

But when I reassemble everything, water absolutely does not drain. it trickes away as if the pipe was almost completely bunged up!

I must be something wrong/missing something here but what??? I'm stumped here.

Sponsored Links
can you provide a picture. Is this drain going through a disposal? When you put it back together did a little water go down then stop?

When I put it back together and turned on the tap, the amount of water the went down the plug hole was roughly the capacity of the u-bend and pipes, then the sink started filling. No disposal - this is just a standard kitchen sink.

i guess this has all the signs of something blocking the pipe but I don't understand why I couldn't find it and why water seems to flow reasonably OK through each individual part when tested.