skiming

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
am on to the final coat of plaster ive put 2 bonding coats over the plaster board and have board finnish to go on to it this is my first time at plastering so dont laff lol

1902201217.jpg

19022012180.jpg

so the question is how the f.....k do you get a finnish with out the float marks in it ?ive tryed being light with it being heavy, and changed the angle off attack but can i stop getting them 2 lines in it ... can i hell tips please :)

Sponsored Links
1St mistake is bonding onto plasterboard, you don't do this, and it will probably fall off.

Second is practice.

fall off :LOL: ........ace wouldnt mind got told to bond it all by the plaster on the site i was working on :evil: sod it its getting papered anyway mite hold it on for a bit :rolleyes:

think he probably meant thistle bond-it which is a primer you paint onto the plasterboard before you skim it.

After you've put your skim coat on, you wait for while for it to go off a bit and then with a brush, flick a bit of water (or you can aply water straight to the trowel or use a spray bottle) and trowel it up nice a smooth.

Sponsored Links
I agree your plasterer probably was referring to "Thistle Bond-It" but quiet why he to told you to use it is anybody’s guess. You don’t normally need any prep on plasterboard unless it’s been up for a while or is very dusty & then PVA is just as good. However, your Bonding coats shouldn’t fall off if correctly applied; Bonding IS suitable for any low suction background including plasterboard.

The problem will be with the skim coats; Bonding is high suction & you will need to control this before skimming or the finish skim will go off on you far too quick.

Your bonding wont fall off. It is perfectly suitable for plasterboard. Used it many times without any problems. Some people giving very bad advice on here. Bondit on plasterboard??? Why???