sockets & light switches basics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Got builders in at the moment renovating a property I bought.
Its up to me to supply the electrical sockets and light switches, but I am a total novice when it comes to this.

The faceplates/covers of all the light switches are all going to be changed over.
Can I just get any faceplates and will they fit onto the old back boxes?
Will they simply be screwed onto the old back boxes or do I need to understand the back box size or something?

I am thinking about ordering online to as seems lot cheaper than screwfix type shops:
https://www.electricalcounter.co.uk...shed+Stainless+Steel+Double+Socket/3835544614
Do these packs come with screws etc or are they separate too?

That site electricalcounter.co.uk looks really cheap unless I am missing a reason why, about half price of screwfix so possible saving of £200 or more for the full house. Are all trade counters these sort of prices as if so I might as well hunt out a local trade counter who can give me the advice and I can take back anything that isnt right. Any local shops anyone can recommenced in Manchester/Oldham/ Tameside area.

Last question: the hallway light switches, downstairs hallway will have switch for downstairs hallway light and upstairs landing. Is 2 gang 2 way correct?
And upstairs landing will have switch for landing light and bathroom. 2 gang 2 way again?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Back boxes and switches and sockets will all have standardised screw holes - Edit - unless really, really old.

Usually screws are included - clipped on the back.

Yes, two-gang two-way is correct.
Get one-gang two-ways, they can be used as one-way.

If you have any lights operated by three separate switches, you will need an ' intermediate' switch. These can also be used as one-way or two-way.

Prices are the same as for anything else. Some places are cheaper than others - that one is cheap.
Stick to well known brands - BG (British General) are ok.