Soldering lead pipe closed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have an unidentified lead pipe running up the corner of a wall which I would like removed.
There was gas in lead pipe in the property but the only gas now in the property runs in copper from the meter to the boiler, so if it was gas then the pipe is no longer connected.
It may be a deadleg on the water system coming off the incoming main, pre the current stopcock and, as I said, I would like to remove it.
What are my options. I presume it needs to be nipped closed and soldered over. Without causing offense, is this something today's plumbers could be expected to do ?

andytw

Sponsored Links
There shouldn't be any tees in the incoming main before the stopcock unless your dwelling is a house to flat conversion and this old pipe feeds upstairs.
You will need to trace out this pipe before taking the decision to cut it.

I'm not experienced in soldering lead, having done it only twice before, the majority of examples I have seen are to solder a piece of copper pipe into the cut end, then cap the copper.

Can you post a picture - a lot can be gleaned from that - if it`s covered with loads of paint , scrape some off , and give us an idea of diameter - thanks

Hi,

Thanks, can't do a photo. It is in a let property. I was there yesterday and have no plans to go back for a while. Will re-post as and when.
I am pretty good at soldering both in electronics and plumbing but don't want to attempt this if the pipe is just going to slump into a puddle. There is obviously a fine line between soldering the pipe and melting the pipe.
Similarly I don't want to engage a plumber only to find they don't or can't do lead.

andytw

Sponsored Links
Cut the pipe then clean the inside with a shavehook or file,flux the inside then clamp or hammer it closed (flat) then solder across.It is not difficult but take it steady with the blowtorch.Or just buy a leadlock fitting to copper.