SOLVED Whirlpool dishwasher - blows fuses and burning smell

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Whirlpool ADP 8900 which is around 4 - 5 year old. A few days ago it stopped mid-cycle with a burning smell in the kitchen. It blew the 13A fuse in the plug of the dishwasher and also the 30A fuse in my consumer unit (although strangely not the 13A fuse in the spur it's fed from on the kitchen wall).

Anyway, I've removed the base plate and eyeballed things - no obvious signs of damage. I removed the front door facia to check the switches etc but again nothing obvious. I also opened the white plastic circuit board container and inspected the board - again no signs of burned pcb / components.

The unit powers on OK but displays a fault code "Fd". I've no idea what that is.

So my question is - what is the most likely culprit here? I was guessing the heater but I'm no expert. Is there a way to test the heater for continuity etc? Am I on the wrong track altogether? I don't really want to put it through another cycle in case it blows the fuses again.

I'll try to attach some pictures here to explain what I'm looking at.

Sponsored Links
Yes test the heating element.
Disconnect from main.
Remove connector plug to heater.
Meter on ohms range.

What reading do you get?

I'm getting 25 ohms but I think this is where the problem lies. I couldn't get the power connector off - turns out it was charred / melted on to the receptacle on the heater (uploading pics in a minute).

25 ohms seems ok does it not? Maybe it's suffering when under load?

I've searched for this part number but had no luck. There are many "equivalents" showing on various spares sites and ebay. Could anyone tell me for sure if there is an equivalent for this or which part number I should be searching for?

Sponsored Links
The heater is most likely the culprit and replacement will solve your problem.