The most skilled trade?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Yes this is subjective and some might be slightly biased ;) however out of the following trades, which one would you say requires the most skill when everything is factored in and why? 'Everything' meaning learning the trade, qualifications required, tools used, accuracy required from the finished result and the breadth/variety of work it typically entails. Think of it in terms of commercial and domestic work and not just someone who buys a van and takes a one line ad out in the free papers ;)

Stick to this list ...

Building inspector
Bricklayer
Carpenter
Electrician
Floor layer
Glazier
Heating engineer
Joiner
Landscaper
Painter & decorator
Plasterer
Plumber
Roofer
Stonemason

Sponsored Links
Subjective / objective, & totally meaningless in the form of the question you present.

I was a painter & decorator, went on to do many great things.

Each of the trades you list, works to an instruction. I feel it is relevant that you don't have any "instructors" in your list.

By far, the most intelligent of building trades I have ever come across, have been 'scaffolders'.

Put that in your pipe & smoke them onions.

Subjective / objective, & totally meaningless in the form of the question you present.

totally agree with the above.

The bottoms line is, you can either do it or you can't. What is hard work/skills to one may be peanuts to another, fact.

Personally I'd say a tree surgeon needs a moderate skill set and all of the others could be easily done by 99.99% of able people.

Sponsored Links
Tis obvious

plumbers and heating blokes :cool:
Are
designers
Specifiers
Tech help
Examined every 5 years
Water regs
Sparkies
Break down

Dexterity wise - bricklaying. Its a job for artisans.

Plastering/rendering has its foibles but modern day skimming is repetitive and simple to do. Still easy to do badly though.