Trainee and my soldering is crap !!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Right, time to ask the experts. Im a trainee plumber and whatever I try, my soldering seems to be crap. How do I know this ? - leaks !! and the joints just dont seem as clean as ones Ive seen. What am I doing wrong, or more importantly, how can I do it right ?

Is it the cleaning ?, too much flux, not enough flux etc etc

help................!!!

Sponsored Links
decent blowtorch,

make sure the joint is CLEAN!

Flux well

heat the fitting not the pipe

when the solder melts it should just get sucked in by capillary action.

I think your main problem is your pipe/fittings aren't clean. use that abrasive cloth to key the surface then clean it with a cloth to remove all the crud.

Well i am also a trainee and i have no problems with my soldering skills. Only advice i can give is this.

Once you have cleaned the copper dont overdue the fluxing, clean excess flux away with a rag. Make sure the copper is nice and warm, keep dabbing the solder to the joint to find this out. Once it does melt run the solder around the joint ( removing flame from pipe as you often find the flame is actually melting the solder rather than the heat from the pipe). Dont overdue the solder, once your confident you have a good seal use wire wool to clean the joint up ( remove the excess blobs of solder). Thats basically it my friend, fingers crossed no leaks from any of my soldering to date. Though compression joints i still have the occasional little dribble ;p.

End feed?
Common faults:
  • Not clean enough before you start
    Too much flux - thin and even is what you want
    Too hot. The flux burns before the solder arrives. Start with highest joint and work DOWN or the ones above will burn.
    Heat in the wrong place. If you only heat the fitting, you get a ring of solder round the end but not inside.

Use this Laco pot, with the brush in the lid. Saves time and fingers.
lacofluxpotcol.gif

Buy from eg BES.