Trianco Eurostar oil boiler problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I have the above boiler which I have been servicing for the last 5 years.

Every 7 12 months or so it starts playing up, getting smoky and locking out. It gets a new nozzle and a Hoover, set up with a FGA, works well.

I serviced it 2 months ago and decided to try a different nozzle, its always had a Delavan .65 60w. This time, I tried a danfoss .60 80 eh, set it up, running 12.4 co2 as per manual and 55 co @ 110psi, thinking in hindsight the co was a little higher than usual but still acceptable.

Its been fine all this time but Now 2 months later it wasn't firing and smoking so I stripped it down today and it's totally sooted up..! Worse than I've ever seen it. So I've cleaned it up and got it working again, it's not great and the FGA results aren't great, as you would expect.

So what happened? I've got to order another nozzle but which one? Go back to the Delavan or get a danfoss .60 80 s? as per manual?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Getting the correct nozzle is fairly obvious, higher flow rates or spray pattern will knock everything out! Check the engineering plate to see what kw output your boiler is meant to be and get right nozzle.
Better to turn down the oil pressure and over air that get too high CO2 and sooting!

PS. don't forget to desoot all the baffles now they are black

On these, I'd check that the baffles aren't too restricting......even if it means a trim with an angle grinder.
John :)

Is it a conventional chimney? I've had problems with soot etc on non balanced flue systems. Regularly flue problems.

Sponsored Links
setting c0 above 12% was asking for trouble. If commissioning print off @ 12% then wind it back to 11.5 %.
Are you using a smoke pump ? first and last tool to use if any doubt a the pump never lies.
Also try a narrower nozzle 60' is less likely to give impingement even if less efficient.