Tripping rcd

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi looking for advice on a tripping rcd, the customer has already had a new cu fitted, the problem is a Boilermate, works ok on its own 24/7, kitchen appliances work, microwave, dishwasher, oven etc with no problems but as soon as kitchen appliances and Boilermate run at the same time the rcd trips?????
The electrician has come back and put the Boilermate on its own circuit but still the same situation.
I’m a gas engineer so not electrically minded but going back with a sparky tomorrow so anything to look out for?
Thanks

Sponsored Links
The electrician has come back and put the Boilermate on its own circuit but still the same situation.

If there is only one RCD, putting them on separate circuits, assuming the same RCD will make no difference at all - or did you mean different RCBO's?

One RCD, could mean that each item has some leakage, and the accumulated leakage is more than 30mA - enough to trip an RCD.

The Boilermate has been put on its own rcd, Boilermate runs 24/7 no problems, but if you use kitchen appliances and the Boilermate the Boilermate rcd trips, thanks
Edit, the red switch for the Boilermate trips, electrician refers to them as rcd, 2 different sparks have been to job but still no further forward, thanks

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    190.6 KB · Views: 64
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
The Boilermate has been put on its own rcd, Boilermate runs 24/7 no problems, but if you use kitchen appliances and the Boilermate the Boilermate rcd trips, thanks
Edit, the red switch for the Boilermate trips, electrician refers to them as rcd, 2 different sparks have been to job but still no further forward, thanks

The pic does not include your RCBO's, it only shows the surge protection and main switch.

Are you putting all kitchen appliances on at the same time, or just one particular appliance and boilermate?

It could be any combination of appliances and the Boilermate

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW