TV wall and new socket plus chasing ??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys

I want to put a TV up on a wall ( an old bricked out of use chimney) no gas there. But I don't want wires everywhere.

I'm considering putting a socket in the wall . My questions are as follows

1) can I spur a new socket from any socket (ground floor)? How would I know if its it's been spurred already ? Would I have to follow it to the other nearest socket.

2) how difficult is it to chase in a bracket wall? I've never done this before. Even though I can connect sockets etc .. how deep would it need to be ?

Thanks for any input.

Sponsored Links
So the tv is going on the disused chimney brest. You could use the old fireplace for your equipment - bluray, games console,tv box or whatever and then add surface mounted socket at the back and then run all associated cables up the chimney and come out behind the TV. You should aslo maintain an airflow for the chimney.
Maybe to avoid any electrical work you could perhaps run a trailing extension cable from the nearest socket to a point in the fire place.

So the tv is going on the disused chimney brest. You could use the old fireplace for your equipment - bluray, games console,tv box or whatever and then add surface mounted socket at the back and then run all associated cables up the chimney and come out behind the TV. You should aslo maintain an airflow for the chimney.
Maybe to avoid any electrical work you could perhaps run a trailing extension cable from the nearest socket to a point in the fire place.

There's no fireplace. It's just a chimney breast. We're actually moving into the property in a week.

No carpets or anything atm. Just floorboards. That's why I thought I can use this as an opportunity.

Yes perfect opportunity. If there is a chimney brest then there should be a fireplace - boarded up by the sound of it.

Sponsored Links
I would take your time to consider your options in case you might want to fit a wood burner