Unswitched sockets for cleaners

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a Civil Engineer and have been looking at some plans for a new healthcare project. I've noticed as well as normal double switched sockets, most rooms have a 'unswitched cleaners socket'. What's the reason behind these being unswitched unlike all the other sockets?

Thanks,
Paul

Sponsored Links
I cannot think of a logical reason, are these sockets specially marked up for cleaners only?
And what do the other sockets do, are they on separate circuits?

I cannot think of a logical reason, are these sockets specially marked up for cleaners only?
And what do the other sockets do, are they on separate circuits?

Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure about the circuits I've just seen a plan of the rooms and a room data sheet which lists things like the number of double switched sockets, light switches, single switched sockets and then each room has a 'unswitched cleaners socket'. I'll try and find a schematic drawing tomorrow.

Thanks,
Paul

Could this socket outlet be supplied by a nearby switched Fused Control Unit?

Sponsored Links
Quite common in IT data centres to have dedicated circuits for cleaners - it both prevents them from unplugging things they shouldn't and prevents any risk of the electrical noise from hoover motors and the like from affecting the clean supplies to the IT equipment.

I'd imagine hospitals and the like would be similar.

Hospitals are indeed similar, heard a few stories about cleaners unplugging/switching off kidney dialysis equipent and stuff like that!

cleaners sockets are often a non-standard pin configuration so that their appliances don't fit anywhere else, and no-one else uses their sockets.

lots of hospital equipment circuits are on 10mA RCDs as the danger is much higher when you have needles and tubes poked in you.

I can't see any good reason for them being unswitched.