Unvented Cynlinder Issue - Clock Timer not working?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Total DIY novice here and wondered if you guys could help,

I have an unvented hot water cylinder that is attached to a clock timer. I noticed yesterday that we had no hot water (its better than happening in the winter, but still annoying!).

Upon checking, it appears that the 'on' light on the clock timer no longer flicks on. The clock timer is still ticking and seems to be working OK, it still 'clicks' on but clearly is not passing electricity onto the boiler. I have an image of the setup attached...
emAgqF

So, before I go out and buy another, as a total novice am I reading this correctly? and how hard are these timers to replace? is it worth unscrewing and seeing if there is a way to fix it first?

Thanks for all help!

Attachments

• 20170709_214210.jpg
    20170709_214210.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 153
Sponsored Links
is it worth unscrewing and seeing if there is a way to fix it first?
You probably won't be able to fix it if it is faulty but worth having a look at the wiring.

The wiring sometimes overheats and burns away and melts the timer.

Switch off the power and take off the cover and post another picture.

Thanks for your responses,

I have attached picture of the timer with the cover off, no obvious damage to the wiring. Also attached a better view of the pipes, I did have some problems with these (the unit was installed before I moved in) the overflow was leaking, I had a plumber out who rearranged and installed the overflow pipe, no leaking since.

So looking like a new clock timer required? how easy are these to install?

thanks for your help again!

Attachments

• 20170710_211442.jpg
    20170710_211442.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 137
  • 20170710_211457.jpg
    20170710_211457.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 121
  • 20170710_211502.jpg
    20170710_211502.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 139
Sponsored Links
I think we shall have to assume the timer has failed.