Vaillant TurboMax - No Hot Water but Central Heating OK...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Vaillant TurboMax boiler has stopped supplying hot water to the taps but Central Heating is fine (hot water tap light rarely comes on when running hot tap - will for a bit sometimes then stops and water go's cold again). Now from reading around the forum people are saying it's either the Diverter Valve, Microswitch, Diaphram or plastic needle that hits the microswitch. Not knowing anything about boilers (I'm a Network engineer by trade) I was hoping someone could give me some pointers as to how I can isolate this problem so I can have an idea of cost to repair before calling an Engineer out.

Any ideas greatly appreciated...

Cheers,

P.S. I was up in the attic when it stopped working laying some rockwool and it's in my head that I could have done something to affect this ? Not possible right ????? :oops:

Sponsored Links
It will be the diverter valve. If you take the front off the boiler then unscrew the 1 screw in the middle so the main front falls down. Look at the large brass section behind the pump you will see a small black plastic microswitch. Get someone to open a hot tap and you look at the boiler it should move down if not it's the diverter valve.

Doesn't this boiler have what you might call two diverter valves? Other Vaillants I'm familiar with have what they call a water section which senses the water flow and turns on the boiler, and a separate valve that actually diverts the flow through the heat exchanger.

In this case the symptoms suggest that the water section is not operating, or only operating perhaps if you get a very high flow rate. They are adjustable and also sometimes may just need cleaning, but usually when they start playing up they need to be replaced.