Vaillent possible NTC fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Vaillent Turbomax plus 824e combi which has developed a fault that I could do with a second opinion on.

We have always controlled the heating with the manual time clock but recently the boiler has been coming on with no demand. I complete my ACS and Gas Safe registration at the end of the month, so while I have a certain amount of knowlage I still concider myself an apprentice. I assumed that it was the time clock as when the boiler was set to constant it worked fine. I replaced the clock but the fault persisted. Having followed the fault finding section of the manual, the diagnosis was the PCB, which I've changed. Fault persists. Then I cleverly looked at the most recent fault codes (told you I'm an apprentice) and that tells me that it is the flow NTC. The first code was F.00, and the second was F64. Can't find out what 64 is as the manual tells me F.60/67 mean irreversible electronic system malfunction.

Can anyone help with the following.

What are the symptons of the flow NTC failing?

How can you test if it is the cable or the probe?

The boiler comes on and off at random and in bursts but temperature is controllable. Is there anything else that might be causing this?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
ACS and Gas Safe? Get you.

Do you have a multi-meter? Test NTC cold for resistance, the colder the higher reading. Leads off. With leads test for continuity.

Very expensive fault finding so far doov. Who do you work for?