Viessman vitodens 100 ( F4 )

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by antonm, 23 Jan 2010.

  1. antonm

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My boiler has just started playing up. It's regularly serviced and up to date. Recently though it's started cutting out and I have no hot water or central heating. The reset button flashes red and F4 comes on the display. I can reset but sometimes it works after two or three presses, sometimes it can take half an hour, pushing the reset button, waiting, flashes again and then I push the button. Eventually the boiler kicks in, but only lasts a few hours then I have to start resetting again. Any ideas. Thanks-Anton
     
  2. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,498
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how old is it?

    is it a combi?
     
  3. antonm

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes mate. It's a combi. quite new. About two years old, I think. Was in when I bought house, but think it was newish
     
  4. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,498
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am a householder not a pro. I have a Vitodens 100 Compact which is not the same as yours. I got it because it is supposed to be a high-quality brand. The Vitodens 100 has been redesigned in the last year or so. Apparently the early electronic circuit boards were not reliable and many of them have been replaced under warranty (I have heard the manufacturers acted very fairly). The F4 problerm seemed to happen a lot but we have not seen it on here recently so maybe that is your trouble (see http://search.diynot.com/forum_sear...it=drop&since=any&author=&search=Search+Forum
    yours is the only one in this forum in the last 3 months.

    If you have any papers showing date of installation and a warranty card this may help. When installed by a Viessmann-trained installer you get a longer warranty. Their brochure says

    "All Vitodens wall hung boilers have a
    standard 3 year warranty on parts &
    labour, which is increased to 5 years for
    all boilers installed by Viessmann trained
    installers. Completely free, with no
    strings attached, this guarantee is
    unrivalled in the industry"


    They also have a ten-year warranty on the heat exchanger (which is Stainless Steel so unlikely to go wrong)

    Your serial number will be on a bar-coded label which may be stuck to the top, side or bottom of your boiler, and should also be stuck to the instruction book. Date of installation may also be in the book.

    With luck a Viessmann installer will be along later who knows more clearly if the F4 is related to the old PCB.

    They are not very common so if you need a repair look for a trained local person on http://www.viessmann.co.uk/home_index.php
     
  5. 990chamber

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anybody know the status of service / warranty of the f4 error problem in, uh, Canada eh?

    thanks
     
  6. ollski

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    5,001
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only f4 I have ever had on these has ended up being the pcb, which is the whole complete unit housing and all with a price tag to boot!. There was a change to the ignition unit which veissman would advise first so check power into that unit on ignition to see if it's receiving any.
     
  7. D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    9,212
    Thanks Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does this help?

    info@viessmann.ca

    or


    Viessmann Manufacturing Company Inc.

    750 McMurray Road
    Waterloo
    ON N2V 2G5
    Canada

    Tel. (519) 885-6300
    Tel. (800) 387-7373 (Toll-Free)
    Fax (519) 885-0887
     
  8. holty

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    5,647
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    could be board or ignition module.worth ringing viessmann on most warrenty calls.if pcb i also replace the ignition module, as these were dogs.should be getting around 300vdc at the ignition module from pcb.this being the old 100 wb1a.
     
  9. Bunnyman

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    4,584
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Common fault f4 ignition transformer fault viessmann changed loads
     
  10. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,778
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its virtually always the ignition unit.

    But there is no test you can do apart from replacing it.

    On the seven Viessmann 100s that I have installed, most have failed within 1-10 weeks.

    I have been told that very rarely it can be caused by the PCB but I have no firm evidence of ANY which were really the PCB. Just a less knowledgeable engineer who replaced the PCB first.

    Tony
     
  11. holty

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    5,647
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can test dc voltage to gen at least .your right though most common fault.had one 2 week ago jammy slapper caused f5 fault sorted. till cycling.on older boards f4 did not show .basically pcb.green ignition module also.lucky bugger.bought it off ebay 500,still under warrentry.so he was happy as.
     
  12. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,778
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the faulty ignition modules that I have ever seen have been grey.

    The new ones are black.

    I did see a red one on a five year old 100 but that was an F5 fault.

    Tony
     
  13. holty

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    5,647
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah your right agile it was grey:oops: was thinking of the similar module off the halstead eden cbx. which is greenish.it is late :LOL:
     

Share This Page