1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

volume control on tv

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by doronsky, 5 Oct 2010.

  1. doronsky

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    volume control on tv
    its not varied enough on control, cant turn it down to a whisper .
    its a neon 32 lcd
    can i put a potentiometer on the tele my self. don't no what's in side
    as i haven't had a look as yet . how do i wire one up .
    two speakers with one red and one black on each speaker is what i would expect to find , if the back is off . 3 pins on the potentiometer . and still keep stereo sound . any diagrams please it should be easy to do this without taking it to tv repair shop . as its only the speaker cables .
    i think i should be able to use 1 potentiometer for the 2 speakers ??
    i realise electricity will be held in some components and care must be taken
    thanks ron
     
  2. gregers

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    5,910
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you running sky through it?
    if so perhaps you can set the volume in the sky box lower then the tv,
    if you can understand that well done :rolleyes:
     
  3. doronsky

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no sky .
    just the built in freeview is used & there's no headphone socket on this television so i cant do outside speakers
     
  4. pellow

    Joined:
    6 May 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cannot attach a potentiometer to the speaker cables. You will alter the impedance of the speaker circuit and may seriously overload the audio output IC causing it to overheat and fail. Volume control is done nowadays by digital increments with + and - buttons or via remote. The circuit cannot be altered.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. doronsky

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i decided to change teles from the spare room to the main room its a lot easier as volume levels don't mater in this room as it is end of semi detached and there is better control of the volume on the spare tele that was used for gaming . best i leave it alone with the volume idea .thanks for the info i learnt something today i prefer the other tv but needs must
    thanks :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page