what to use to seal this leak ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i have finished plumbing toilet and have tested for leaks, had quite a few but tightened up compression fittings and am now left with 2 minute little drips,

i have used ptfe tape on both, improving it but still tiny drip !
as i am a novice thought i'd ask if anyone got suggestion ie best product to use.

the problem connections seem to be where connectors (possibly a reducer of some sort) screw into the valve as shown in picture, is it ok for me just to use loads of ptfe tape on this type of fitting, and does anyone think this will work
DSC00037_2.jpg

Sponsored Links
Chances are you over tighned the fittings. Its a common error for beginers. Next time just do it up gently then you can always add a 1/4 turn if necessary

Sponsored Links
is it worth putting on some paste and ptfe tape to make sure,

prob silly idea coz i taake it they do same job but i am bit concerned because those valves etc obv are getting tiled over, gotta make sure they never leak !!!!!!!

Typical DIYer who wants to tile over plumbing fittings.

If its a valve then it should remain accessible!

It rather defeats the object of having a valve if you then make it inaccessible.

If you dont need a valve then remove it and then tile over if you have to.

Its far better to have all pipework accessible, behind access panels if necessary.

Tony

they are wall mounted taps, there will be hole cut round the tile which going over them for the handle to screw onto the valve

is it correct to call them valves ? may not have explained myself properly

cheers

can you use a fibre washer as well as say ptfe tape to ensure seal !!!!!

i may be way off with that one but thought id ask

Wind the PTFE on the male thread in a clockwise direction to form a taper.

The fitting you are pointing to looks as though it could be a straight compression joint.