Wiring for Smeg range cooker

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning,

We would like to fit a 100cm Smeg range cooker. We have an existing range with a gas hob and electric oven. It has a 6mm2 cable. Looking at the 3rd smeg suggested wiring scenario below would it be possible to use the existing 6mm cable plus other 6mm cables from neighbouring sockets? We are just looking at options as it is a long way to run a new 10mm wire and may involve considerable replastering....

Many thanks for your help! Jane

Morning
smeg range wiring.jpg

Sponsored Links
Hi,

I'm not an electrician, but your post leaves me with a couple of questions!

What model is the range cooker?
Is it one with an induction hob?
If your existing wiring is 6mm, what value MCB do you have in your Consumer Unit?

Looking at the 3rd smeg suggested wiring scenario
I believe that relates to a 2 phase supply, and the first wiring suggestion is probably correct in your case.

Sponsored Links
OK, thanks all. The MCB associated with the current range is 32W and it is 6mm. It is a Smeg Victoria range 100cm which does have an induction hob.

Then, it will be alright on the existing circuit and 6mm² cable if <15kW (possibly up to 19kW).

An induction hob doesn't really make any difference.

Yes, 20kW would be too much but nothing to do with it being an induction hob or an ordinary hob.

A glance at a cable calculator suggests that 6 mm² is less than adequate for 10 kW
But still protected by the 32A MCB :)
Its a cooker and why have you chosen those parameters?
It is nominally rated at 20kW, but has 3 ovens and 5 zones on the hob.

All in my non-expert opinion and I'm happy to be corrected!:

As above, if the circuit is compliant, it will be 'safe' to connect the range to your existing wiring.
However, it will not be correct; especially if you are a MasterChef who uses all the ovens and the hob at the same time!
Running any circuit at its limit, for an extended length of time is a bad idea.