Building a summer house- advice please!?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'd like to build a summer house this spring as a small project and I'm looking for advice.
I've never built one before and have very limited DIY experience. However I'd like t give it a go.

The idea is to do everything ourselves, i.e. not buying pre-made.

Does anyone have any experience/ advice they can offer with this kind of project, and any books they can advise on/ or floor plans?

Warm regards,

N

Sponsored Links
That was my project this time last year, here's some pics.

I can give you a run down on the how to.... materials and costs etc, or any specifics. ]

Hi Alistair, if you could give me a run down on everything for the summer house that would be a huge help. Your project looks great.

I've just PM'd you now.

Warm regards,

Could you give us a bit more to go on : Space available, budget, what use you might put it to, whether you want to insulate it lots or not?

Sponsored Links
I have been thinking of building one of those for when I am in the dog house with the mrs

Hi Alistair, if you could give me a run down on everything for the summer house that would be a huge help.

Hi Nick,

The summer house walls were constructed from 125x50mm off the saw red pine at 5.4m lengths.

The floor was 9x2" @ 450mm centres.

Roof 5x2" @ 600 centres.

The floor joists were laid on concrete pads around a metre apart throughout the footprint of the shed...DPC on top of the pads before laying the joists.

I made the shed the same size as the lengths of 5x2, the shed being around 3.4m in length and veranda 2m.

Once the floor joists were laid i built the framing for the walls, on the outside of the frame is 9mm osb plywood then builders paper (breathable membrane) then vertical straps every 450mm to which the log lap cladding is fixed.

The inside is insulated with 150mm rockwool between the studs then 500 guage vapour barrier is fixed (plastic sheet) and 12.5mm gyproc to complete.