Advice Needed On New Socket Placement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm currently renovating my property in BG and need some advice on moving a socket to a new position. I've never done any electrical work before; probably never even rewired a plug! But, I understand the concept of what is involved where basic electrics are concerned. However, before I carry out my tasks, I would like to know if I'm doing it right.

Here's a diagram:

I want to move the socket because it'll be in the way for when I fix on the skirting board, so therefore would like it higher up maybe by 6-10 CM.
So what I plan on doing is keeping the existing box as a little junction box, extending the existing cable with a terminal block and plastering in the new box above. Now, do I really have to keep that old box accessible or can i just plaster over it, concealing the terminal block or is that very bad practice? Because in some ways, if I have to keep that accessible, it kinda defeats the object of moving the socket lol as I'll still have the old box in the way for the skirting board. Any advice? Is there another way?

Also, just a random question, a couple of years ago, in another room, I had a socket which had a radiator plugged in (it was off at the time) and the socket started to melt, even though the radiator wasn't on. I put it down to maybe it was running off a spur already in use. Is this right?

Sponsored Links
I've never done any electrical work before; probably never even rewired a plug! But, I understand the concept of what is involved where basic electrics are concerned.

I hate it when they say that

This is a UK site. You need to familiarise yourself with Bulgarian regulations and working practices.

In the UK you have got the run that cable directly vertically, not diagonally,

I've never done any electrical work before; probably never even rewired a plug! But, I understand the concept of what is involved where basic electrics are concerned.