central heating tripping r.c.d.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello guys great forum. ( my first post )
I am a electrician ( hope im ok on this territory ;) )my mate has asked me to go round, because when he turns on his CH via the clock this causes his R.C.D. to trip out. ( this has developed because at first it was fused spur which kept blowing fuse )
I will go round and check out his wiring to and from timer to accessories, However my knowledge of heating wiring circuits is not brilliant.
What accessories usually give such a fault?
Apart from a visual of connections and disconnecting each item as process of eliminiation i wouldnt know if a valve or pump was faulty.
From what i can gather there is a
pump.
valve.
boiler.
and i suppose the timer itself.
can any of you give me pointer or two?

P.S. its an old style system thats all i know as of yet.

Sponsored Links
Well if it only happens on CH then it is odds on that it will be the motorised valve.

THX. I will make valve my first call in my process of elimination providing there are no obvious wiring faults.
by the way the valve is the little square thing ,galvanised cover with a lever on? oh and the valve just has a Live, Neutral, and Earth feed?

it's usually the watery things - pump leaking onto connections or into motor, drip inside boiler casing onto PCB. the 3-way valve (depending how it's fitted) usually has the electric head above the pipes and valve, so less prone to leaks.

Some old systems have gravity feed to boiler, so no 3-way valve

Could also be a chafed or trapped wire, especially if it's been recently serviced.

I don't know much about boilers, they have a removable cover, but some are pressurised inside. If you know the make and model someone here will know if you can safely open it.

Sponsored Links