Quick Structural Beam Calc Q

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Had structural calcs professionally prepared by SE for my extension, but I am concerned that they are extremely OTT. Being an engineer by profession I am in the process of working through them, but am struggling to understand a constraint for beam deflection.

I am aware of max deflection for a beam in a building of L/360, which for my 6.3m beam comes out at 17.5mm, but he has then used: 5/TAN 30deg = 8.7mm. Where has that come from? Is it a factor of safety?

It’s a big issue as 17.5mm gives me an I value of 10’323cm^4, whereas 8.7mm is 20’765cm^4, which makes a big difference to the depth of the beam!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Hi

L/360 is the allowable deflection for live load. However, to prevent unsightly cracking through excessive deflection, this should limited to an absolute value of 12mm for spans >4320mm. If the beam is being installed in an existing structure, then, as the dead load is already there, it would be sensible to consider deflection under dead plus live loading, to the same limits.

So, he's right to restrict the deflection, but I have to say that I can't understand the 5/tan30 bit, that's lost me. If you pro rata the L/360 value thus: 10323 x6.3x10^3/(360x12), that will give you 15054cm^4.

Full calc for deflection is 5wL^4/384EI, or am I in danger of teaching mother's mother to suck on yolk and albumen?

BS5950 does state span/360 and you would use all the serviceability loads and not just the live load

And you do know that that gives the maximum permitted, and you need to do the other calc to work out the actual deflection?

Service load is actually an unfactored load, whether dead, live or both :rolleyes:

Beam stresses are calculated from ultimate, ie factored loads: factors for Gk, Qk (and Wk if applicable) depend on load combination.

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys!

OK, some more info plus I’ve been thinking a bit more!