Newbie - Problem with boiler, central heating isn't working.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I hope some one can offer me advice. I am a Newbie so please speak in laman terms to me :rolleyes:

I have a Potterton Nettaheat Electronic 10-16 boiler and have had an on-going problem but now it does not work the central heating.

Yesterday evening the boiler stoped working. I would turn up the thermostat in the entrance hall and it would click to indicate that the heating would turn on but the boiler does not fire up anymore.

It has turned on a couple of times, only for brief periods, and I expect that this to heat the water as that seems fine and is piping hot.

I have an engineer coming round shortly and would just like advice so I know that he is giving me genuine advice and quotation. Sorry to say that, especially on here, but with all the scaremongering on TV, etc. it is easy to have a suspicious mind-set.

The thermostat is on 25c, the hot water is fine, the pump is set to three, I have set the boiler to max and it heats up much when it is on.

In respect to the on-going problem. This regards igniting the pilot light. It would click several times, the pilot comes on, fires up, turns off and repeats the process several times before staying on.

I have also noticed that the water through my shower has changed a couple of times. At the moment I have the electric shower set to low temperature and the water is still piping hot.

Thanking you in advance for any help.

Sponsored Links
kevplumb said:
you say the pump is set to three but is it running? :D
Hey thanks for the quick reply.

Just to explain my set-up a little more.

The boiler is in the kitchen and has a setting from off, 1 - 4 and max. I normally have it on 2.5.

The thermostat for the central heating is in the entrance hall.

Upstairs in the air cupboard is a timer and two switches to turn the turn the water and the central heating respectively to timer, off or on.