Adding sockets

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is it ok to add sockets onto an existing 4mm twin / earth radial circuit using 2.5mm twin and earth. :?:

Sponsored Links
MKK337.jpg

this is an fcu

because you want to use 2.5 cable you must insert a fuse to protect the new smaller cable, hence fcu, how ever you can add more sockets with no fcu if you use 4mm

Sponsored Links
I am assuming this can be situated beneath the floorboards. I am a mechanical engineer and know a reasonable amount about electrics, but want to make sure everything is ok first.

Many thanks

no, sorry it cant becuse you will need access to it, stick with 4 mm cable

how is running a 2.5mm spur from a 4mm 32A radial any different from running one from a 2.5mm 32A ring?

because thats not what it was designed to do. i see what you are saying though.

plugwash said:
how is running a 2.5mm spur from a 4mm 32A radial any different from running one from a 2.5mm 32A ring?

i agree. altho 2.5mm from a 32A ring is wrong since the breaker will only protect the cable to 32A, 5A above the limit

back to the main question, unless its the last socket you intend to take a feed from, itll be pretty tight gettin 3 4mm cables into one socket

He's quite right: there is no sense allowing a 2.5mm spur off a 32A ring and forbidding one off a 32A radial. Of course, the other conditions re spurs would apply. No further spurs off the spur. Only one socket.

There is some cable protection, because the biggest thing allowed on the end is a double socket...with two 13A fused plugs=26A

The OSG seems quite happy in principle to have unfused spurs off 32A radials wired in 4mm. Unfortunately from the wording it does not say you can use a smaller cable size. But if you use the same size cable off a radial, how is that a spur?

Thanks for the responses, maybe I should explain a little better where I am upto.