DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

3.4kw oven


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bagnall1982

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 57
Location: Clwyd,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 2:42 pm Reply with quote

hi installing new oven and ceramic hob oven 3.4kw and hob 6kw, used 6mm cable from cu(4 mt away) on 40a breaker, kitchen has now been dry lined plastered and kitchen going in this week, problem is iv only just oredered appliances today and just realised that the oven is 3.4kw thought it was under 3kw and as such have a ccu for the hob and a fcu next to this for the oven as thought it would be under 3kw so now im having to wire the oven via a 13a fuse though the fcu even though max current could be 14.1 any ideas as to how i can get around this without running in a seperate radial circuit.

thanks

Nick
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46140
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1659 times

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 3:19 pm Reply with quote

bagnall1982 wrote:
hi installing new oven and ceramic hob oven 3.4kw and hob 6kw, used 6mm cable from cu(4 mt away) on 40a breaker,

Did you apply for Building Regulations approval before you started?


Quote:
any ideas as to how i can get around this without running in a seperate radial circuit.

Yep - get a different oven.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 4:09 pm Reply with quote

are you saying that the 13A FCU is on the 40A cooker radial?

could change it for a 20A DP switch.. but then you're relying on the 40A cooker breaker to protect the oven..

which if you think about it you do on a cooker anyway.. there are no internal fuses for the oven and hobs on normal cookers...

providing that the linking cable is sized for the breaker then it should be ok ( good luck getting 6mm into the oven BTW? icon_smile.gif )


Last edited by ColJack on Sun May 17, 2009 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bagnall1982

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 57
Location: Clwyd,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 4:24 pm Reply with quote

yes the fcu is on the 40a 6mm radial so 6mm into supply of fcu and 2.5mm out of it to oven think i might justhave to change the oven or run the oven i have off a 13a fuse or is this dangerous?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17202
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 893 times

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 4:36 pm Reply with quote

It's going to get annoying when the fuse blows every time you try and cook your tea.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
GaryMo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 4108
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 165 times

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 5:31 pm Reply with quote

To be honest, I doubt a 13A fuse would blow with a loading of 3.4kW (14.8A @ 230v).
It wouldn't see 3.4kW for any length of time anyway due to the ovens thermostats.

It's not good design though.

See ColJacks post above though I think he may have been drinking when typing it icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15902
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 5:41 pm Reply with quote

Downstream of the CCU, fit a 2-module enclosure with two MCBs.

32A for the hob (for discrimination with the 40A one upstream))
16A for the oven.

Sorted. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Hood and Gas Oven Ignition Help Please 3 240 Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:36 pm
Connecting 10mm^2 to the oven - connectors seem inadequate 16 840 Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:33 pm
how do i wire up the oven 2 340 Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:49 pm
Oven light bulbs 3 220 Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Oven wiring, ok? 3 200 Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:14 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.