DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Continual failure to connect resulting in 721 error code.

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Software
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:30 pm Reply with quote

My dad has been having a problem getting on-line with a Dell laptop (XP Pro) and a Sagem modem. He keeps getting a 721 error each time he attempts connection and has tried rebooting many times but to no avail. The ISP is Tiscali who are adamant that the connection from the exchange is sound and suggest that something has become corrupted in the sign-on process. Now whilst we can all pretty much agree that Tiscali is an utterly p*ss-poor outfit that make Talk Talk look vaguely competent and BT semi-professional, it seems in this case that they are correct, as my dad’s immediate neighbour is also a Titscali victim and his connection, although slow, remains trouble-free. In addition to this dad tried the laptop on the neighbour’s modem but it still failed to connect - again with a 721 error code.

I got him to uninstall Zone Alarm as there seem to have been a few problems with this firewall (recently discussed on DIYNOT) and use the Windows equivalent instead. This worked for sufficient time for him to send out a couple of emails but on subsequent attempts to connect he continued to meet the 721 obstacle.

Next I suggested that he do a restore and this seemed to achieve some sort of connection but any attempt at locating the pointer on a favourite resulted in the no-entry graphic appearing. Trying to connect in Network Connections is continuing to result in the 721 error message.

I wonder if it might be worth removing the existing Tiscali stuff and loading the original broadband connection disc to recreate the line. Any ideas much appreciated. icon_cry.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
oddjobx1

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Location: Humberside,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:50 pm Reply with quote

i have just googled error code 721 and its more than likely your router, what router is your dad using to connect to the internet
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:04 am Reply with quote

It's not a router, oddjob, it's a Sagem modem and despite the 721 error code both lights are green, as they should be.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
oddjobx1

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Location: Humberside,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:50 am Reply with quote

is this sagem modem a router as well or is he using an ethernet cable to connect to it what model is the sagem modem
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
wanleg

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 379
Location: Hartlepool,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 14 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:41 am Reply with quote

Can you post screen shots of the dial up networking setup please.

You defo only have 1 modem (i.e. the Sagem) ticked against the connection (Under 'Connect using:') ?

Can you do a 'Query Modem' repeatedly using the Diagnostic in the Phone and Modem options on the Control Panel ?
Back to top
The following user says thank you to wanleg for this useful post:
chainsaw_masochist (19 Oct 2009)
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:39 pm Reply with quote

Sorry, slight mistake on my part. I have the Sagem modem (which looks similar) but my dad has a Thomson Speedtouch 330.

oddjob: No Ethernet cable required, just an R45 and telephone cable to DSL splitter.

wanleg: Unable to post the said screen shots as I live 130 miles away from my folks. Yes, there is only one modem used. The telephone line is fine, though. Before I call him, I have checked my setup, which is similar, and I have no Diagnostic option in my Phone and Modem option in either the dialling rules, modems or advanced selections.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
wanleg

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 379
Location: Hartlepool,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 14 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:22 pm Reply with quote

What's changed on the setup, anything or nothing ?

Has this just become a problem now i.e. your Dad has previously had no trouble with this setup OR is this a new setup ?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:33 pm Reply with quote

They have been using this setup for about three years so nothing (intentionally) should be changed. That said the line has always been slow, abysmally so, we're talking 512 kbps. Again this is not a Tiscali feature it is simply a limitation on the local BT line.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
BoxCleva

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 1042
Location: Clwyd,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:36 pm Reply with quote

Chainsaw, just uninstall all the sagem/tiscali software and reinstall. Reming him not to re-plug in the modem until prompted to do so during the re installation.

The whole process shouldn't take more than 10 minutes.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:47 pm Reply with quote

BoxCleva wrote:
Chainsaw, just uninstall all the sagem/tiscali software and reinstall. Reming him not to re-plug in the modem until prompted to do so during the re installation.

The whole process shouldn't take more than 10 minutes.


Thanks, BC. Is it necessary for him to delete the prevailing Tiscali stuff or would the reinstalling overwrite this? icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
BoxCleva

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 1042
Location: Clwyd,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:20 pm Reply with quote

Go to Start , then Control Panel. Check that icons are on a white background here, if not click on 'classic view' in the top left of the window. Once your icons are on a white background double click on Add/Remove programs. Locate anything Tiscali and Sagem in the list and click on Change/Remove to uninstall each one in turn. I've installed hundreds of these old sagems, but I can't remember whether the sagem and tiscali software is separate or combine, but it doesn't matter, just get him to check nothing Sagem or Tiscali remains. Now restart the PC. Pop in the Tiscali installation CD and start the installation again - follow the on screen prompts to complete. He will need to know his user name and password which will be his original Tiscali email address and whatever password he chose.

EDIT: as stated earlier, he must unplug the modem usb cable from the PC (before uninstalling is fine) until prompted to insert it during the installation process
Back to top
The following user says thank you to BoxCleva for this useful post:
chainsaw_masochist (19 Oct 2009)
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:27 pm Reply with quote

Great stuff, BC. It's actually a Thomson modem but I guess the same is relevant for them too. Will give it a bash. Thanks again. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
BoxCleva

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 1042
Location: Clwyd,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:45 pm Reply with quote

Ahhh Speedtouch 330. Yes , same script. Remove Speedtouch modem and tiscali software assuming they are separate, or just Tiscali if no Speedtouch listing.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
chainsaw_masochist

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 822
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:02 pm Reply with quote

Bu**er, it hasn't worked. Been through the whole process by telephone of deleting the existing modem software and then using the reinstal disc and, after all that, still getting the 721 error. Infuriating. icon_evil.gif

Any ideas, guys? icon_cry.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
daozen

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 235
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 30 times

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:33 pm Reply with quote

Since you're on XP try this: WinSock XP Fix

Another thing that can mess up network connections are viruses/spyware. Have you checked? If not scan with SuperAntiSpyware and MalwareBytes AntiMalware (I'm assuming you can download them for your dad and transfer and install them on you dads computer). Be sure to update both before you use them if you can.


Last edited by daozen on Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Mum can't connect to the internet 7 480 Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:46 am
Connect to Win 7 From Win XP 6 440 Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:47 pm
Email connection OK, but Explorer won't connect 6 700 Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:27 am
Failure to install Epson printer on Windows 7 5 1440 Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:19 pm
Vista restart failure 9 760 Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:48 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.