Want to have a switch to isolate a complete floor's lighting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have a 3 story Victorian home which has the kitchen on the ground floor and living rm on the 1st floor. Too many times I find I've done the cooking, walk upstairs to put the kids to bed/retire to the living rm etc and realise all the lights are left on downstairs!

Is there an ideal world where I can have a switch outside the living rm to switch off all lights on ground floor...... but..... if I happen to go downstairs and forget/not realise the lights have been switched off, that switching any light/a master switch, turns all the lights back on?

I think a 2 way switch that intercepts the ground floor circuit is the answer, but I'm not an electrician and wouldn't have a clue how to do it!

Thx

Sponsored Links
You'd need some kind of home automation system to do that.

If you were able to put a switch into the lighting circuit before the first downstairs light you could then run a 3-core & earth strapper to another switch upstairs, but you'd then have a 2-way master, i.e. if you turned it off upstairs, and then went downstairs, you'd have to flick the downstairs master - you wouldn't be able to make it work the way you suggested with any light switch overriding the master.

The difficulty of the task depends on where you would want the downstairs master, where the cables run, the type of flooring you have, and your attitude to cutting chases in the walls and redecorating, but it wouldn't be impossible - you'll find a diagram for 2-way switching in the Wiki.

The college I am at has a PIR and switch so you use a self returning switch with starts a timer and the PIR is connected to another terminal of same timer so while people are moving in the room lights will stay on but it will auto switch off once unoccupied.

However these are easy way out Maplin sell the switches but they are no good for college as too easy to switch from auto setting.