DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

How to connect an electric oven to power supply


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:54 pm Reply with quote

I am not qualified electrition but have good diy knowledge.Can someone tell me how can i connect an electric oven .Can i take a spur out of ringmain as a socket and plug oven into it or is it better to use fuse connection unit. if so what rating fuse should be used.In instlation book it says min fuse 15amps-20amps and cable size min 2.5(what does it mean),or is it better to run 2.5 cable directly from consumer unit (from 32 amps fuse) as a double pole socket and plug oven into it.Thank you.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Adam_151

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 5763
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 135 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:29 pm Reply with quote

Tell us what rateing the oven is, its measured in watts or kilowatts and should be marked near the cable entry of the oven, or in the specifications section of the instructions
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Spark123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14170
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 396 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:35 pm Reply with quote

You can't plug this in as a plugtop only allows for 13A. It needs its own 15A/20A radial supply from the consumer unit run in. Local to the oven you will need a double pole switch and connection plate installed. Your guide says min 2.5mm˛ as the proper selection of cable involves the length of run, how it is run (i.e. clipped direct, through insulation etc), what type of fuse is protecting it (i.e. a rewirable fuse, cartridge fuse, mcb etc), ambient temp and grouping with other cables.

Also, please read bans bit on part p.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:39 pm Reply with quote

Dear spark 123 /Adam 151
Many thanks for quick reply obout electric oven connection.as you asked about cables routing and protection.Cu is in open celler ,about 2 meters of cable would be cliped to open ceiling,about 5 meters would be laid loose on ground in crawling celler,through the wall and about 2 meters be burried in plaster.I tend to fit switch behind cabinet next to oven so ,it can be reached easily.I have looked in instruction book and on oven, could not find its output.Oven is Electrolux 6632.It would be protected by 20 amps mcb.what do you mean by double pole switch and wall plate.Is it single 45 amp cooker switch and backing box you mean.Now can you tell me do i need to increase the size of cable or 2.5 is sufficent.From switch to oven i tend to use 2.5 flex as mentioned in book min required.Anyway i found out today that oven in question has connected load of 3 KW.Thank you.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:46 am Reply with quote

Adam_151 wrote:
Tell us what rateing the oven is, its measured in watts or kilowatts and should be marked near the cable entry of the oven, or in the specifications section of the instructions

3 kw
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46147
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1659 times

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:09 am Reply with quote

Surely a man who rewires houses can work out what cables are suitable for a 3kW load?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:40 pm Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
Surely a man who rewires houses can work out what cables are suitable for a 3kW load?

If you the expert read my original question,ibet you would,nt ask my background.Buy the way, why it is so difficult for expert like you to answer the question in simple termes, straightfoward.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:43 pm Reply with quote

Spark123 wrote:
You can't plug this in as a plugtop only allows for 13A. It needs its own 15A/20A radial supply from the consumer unit run in. Local to the oven you will need a double pole switch and connection plate installed. Your guide says min 2.5mm˛ as the proper selection of cable involves the length of run, how it is run (i.e. clipped direct, through insulation etc), what type of fuse is protecting it (i.e. a rewirable fuse, cartridge fuse, mcb etc), ambient temp and grouping with other cables.

Also, please read bans bit on part p.

Dear spark 123 /Adam 151
Many thanks for quick reply obout electric oven connection.as you asked about cables routing and protection.Cu is in open celler ,about 2 meters of cable would be cliped to open ceiling,about 5 meters would be laid loose on ground in crawling celler,through the wall and about 2 meters be burried in plaster.I tend to fit switch behind cabinet next to oven so ,it can be reached easily.I have looked in instruction book and on oven, could not find its output.Oven is Electrolux 6632.It would be protected by 20 amps mcb.what do you mean by double pole switch and wall plate.Is it single 45 amp cooker switch and backing box you mean.Now can you tell me do i need to increase the size of cable or 2.5 is sufficent.From switch to oven i tend to use 2.5 flex as mentioned in book min required.Anyway i found out today that oven in question has connected load of 3 KW.Thank you.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Softus

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 19558
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 9 times

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 1:10 am Reply with quote

saleem wrote:
ban-all-sheds wrote:
Surely a man who rewires houses can work out what cables are suitable for a 3kW load?

If you the expert read my original question,ibet you would,nt ask my background.Buy the way, why it is so difficult for expert like you to answer the question in simple termes, straightfoward.

saleem, the point being made by b-a-s is that your first post is misleading. You didn't need to say what your background was, but what you've said is different to your own introduction on some other topics.

You seem to be picking up knowledge and experience from the forum, which is fair enough, but you're going about it the wrong way. Firstly, get the OSG. Secondly, get a decent couple of books and read them. If you don't understand, then don't proceed with the work. It's not enough to know how to connect a light bulb to a torch battery and such like - you'll understand this point when you do some reading.

The advice given by experts such as b-a-s is carefully considered, and it has to take into account what the reader is likely to do with the information. You don't have any right to demand an answer here, or to be aggressive ("why is it so difficult...") when you don't get an answer.

Please bear in mind that if you were to take the advice given here and attempt something beyond your capabilities, then the potential consequences are very bad for you and quite bad for the forum.

You said "Please be honest and simple in advising" - well then, please be equally honest in asking.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
megawatt

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 3288
Location: Devon,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 9:00 am Reply with quote

Not sure why you're protecting with a 20A MCB, I would fit a 16A for a 3KW oven ...

Current = Power (in watts)/Voltage

3000/230 = 13.04A

Therefore protect with 16A MCB
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
saleem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:16 pm Reply with quote

megawatt wrote:
Not sure why you're protecting with a 20A MCB, I would fit a 16A for a 3KW oven ...

Current = Power (in watts)/Voltage

3000/230 = 13.04A

Therefore protect with 16A MCB

Thank you megawatt,i am going to do exactly that(16A MCB).
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Please Help want to connect 1.8Kw Electric oven 6 400 Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:26 pm
Shaver Socket - OK to connect to 5 amp light supply ? 3 461 Tue Nov 25, 2008 9:47 am
Spur - best way to connect to supply socket 5 420 Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:19 pm
What size fuses / which supply to connect for the following 9 1160 Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:37 pm
How to connect LED garden lights to a 12V supply 4 200 Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:49 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.