stone walls

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I live in an old cottage with exposed stone walls. It's freezing! Is there anything I can do to stop the stone sucking up the heat?
thanks

Sponsored Links
Move south!?? Do your walls have a DPC installed? These old stone walls are frequently rubble infill and hold a lot of water in winter. Apart from knocking them down and rebuilding on new footings the only way I know to DPC them involves copious amounts of DPC compound and an injection machine.

Scrit

Honestly? - I'm not sure. I'm a complete novice here. How would I tell whether I've a DPC? - the walls are dry and there are no problems with damp anywhere in the house except for an occasionally leaky cellar.

As for moving south - I'd rather be cold!

You didn't say how old your house was and how thick the walls are. Have you checked the walls with a moisture meter (when the temperature is above 5 degrees otherwise you'll probably get a false reading)? How well is the house insulated? Do you have double glazing? What are the floors made of (flags?)? How good or bad is the pointing in the masonry? Do you suffer from draughts? How is the house heated (gas, C/H, electric)? Sorry, but mylast house was built in 1605 - stone walls, rubble infill, rising damp, the lot. It took quite a bit of sorting out to get it dry and warm and all the above were factors. If your house is grade listed then you'll find it difficult to do anything which meets the BCOs (Building Control Officer's) requirements. One thing we did do (in the Victorian bit at the back) was to line the walls with Kingspan panels, although that will lose you 4 to 6 inches (or more) off each side of your rooms.

Which part of Yorkshire are you in? We're up in the Pennines (W. Yorks)

Scrit

Sponsored Links